UCSF Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics

Peter Walter Elected to the National Academy of Medicine for 2018

Walter is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator and has received some of the most esteemed prizes in biomedical science including the Breakthrough Prize in Life Science, the Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award and the Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine. Congratulations Peter on yet another one to add to the list!


Joe DeRisi, Elected to the National Academy of Medicine!

The accolades continue.. Three UC San Francisco faculty members are among the 70 new members and nine international members elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM), one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine. Congrats Joe!


Bruce Alberts receives 2016 Lasker~Koshland Award

We share the Chancellor's excitement in announcing the news that Bruce Alberts, PhD, UCSF Chancellor's Leadership Chair in Biochemistry and Biophysics for Science and Education, has received the 2016-Lasker~Koshland Award for Special Achievement in Medical Science. One of the highest honors in biomedicine, this award is given every two years by the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation. More...



BSSS - Sue Biggins, Fred Hutch Cancer Research Center
Chromosome segregation: new insights and approaches
GH S201, 12:10-1:10pm



BSSS - Carrie Partch, UC Santa Cruz
Morning larks and night owls shed light on the molecular basis for circadian timekeeping
GH S201, 12:10-1:10pm

Contact us
Mission Bay Campus
Genentech Hall
600 16th St.
Follow us